Nominations sought for Athena Award

Organizers of the Northeast Michigan Athena Award program are seeking nominations for its20th Annual Athena Award, which is sponsored by the Alpena Area Chamber of Commerce, Alpena Power Company, Lafarge and the Zonta Club of Alpena.

The prestigious Athena Award recognizes an individual for business and professional accomplishments, for community service, and for serving as a role model to encourage women to reach their full leadership potential. Both men and women are eligible for the award.

Athena nominees must live or work in Alpena, Alcona, Montmorency and Presque Isle counties, and still be active in their careers. A selection committee of prominent community leaders will review all nomination forms and select the recipient.

All nominees will be honored, and the recipient announced, at a special Greek luncheon set for Nov. 12 at the Sanctuary Inn of Alpena.

The deadline for nominations is Sept. 1, and forms must be submitted to the Alpena Chamber of Commerce-Athena Award, 235 W. Chisholm, Alpena, MI 49707. Nomination forms can be downloaded by logging on to and clicking on Athena Award, or by calling Jackie Krawczak at 354-4181.

The Athena Award was started in Lansing in 1982, and is presented in hundreds of cities in the United States and Canada. The award takes the form of a hand-cast bronze sculpture symbolizing the strength, courage and wisdom of the recipient.

Previous Athena Award recipients include: Diane Speer, 2013; Rev. Steven Hammond, 2012; Carol Shafto, 2011; Marie Williams, 2010; Penny Boldrey, 2009; Marsha Hoppe, 2008; Barb Wilmot, 2007; Cindi Bauer, 2006; Karen Hepburn, 2005; Dr. Richard Bates, 2004; Cindy Gabara, 2003; Ann Burton, 2002; Kay Gonyea, 2001; Rev. Tom Downs and Lorraine Reuther, 2000; Gary Dawley, 1999; Judith Stillion, 1998; Kathleen Stepaniak, 1997; Hazel Crittenden, 1996 and Betty Krueger, 1995.

The Northeast Michigan Athena Award Committee is comprised of Carol Shafto, Jackie Krawczak, Barb Wilmot, Marie Williams, Penny Boldrey, Diane Speer and Ashley Defisher.