MOC Auxiliary recognizes members for volunteer hours

The Military Order of the Cootie Pup Tent 96 Auxiliary held a monthly meeting June 17 with President Patty Kucharek presiding. Fines included 25 cents for attending, 25 cents for not wearing socks, 25 cents for hospital and 10 cents for the pot.

Hospital chairman Betty Olsen thanked Judy Johnson and Barb LaMay for their help with bingo at Tendercare. Members agreed to send $25 to Tomb Trek for a wreath and a floral bouquet to a shut-in veteran for the 4th of July.

Due to her work schedule, Linda Dubie sent a letter of resignation from her conductress and fun chairman responsibilities. Dixie Weiler agreed to fill the chair until a new one is elected.

Judy Johnson received a 100-hour pin for her volunteering at Tendercare and Barbara LaMay received a 300 and 500-hour pin. Margaret Piontkowski was presented with a certificate of recognition for second place in chaplain chairmanship and Marie Rhines received second place for Supreme Presidents Special Project chairmanship. LaMay also received second place in scholarship program chairmanship.

Kucharek agreed to make up a new roster for the wall. The next meeting will be held July 15 at 7 p.m. at the VFW Hall, 2900 Connon.

Goodie bags were won by Barbara Mouthaan and Dixie Weiler. The 50/50 was won by Emma Liske and Edna Mae Frongello’s name was drawn for the pot money, but she was not in attendance so it carries on to the next meeting. A potluck lunch was served.