Alpena softballers named all-region; NSL makes conference picks

Following a 31-8 season that included a Big North Conference title and a district title, several Alpena High softball players earned all-region honors for the 2014 season.

They were: junior outfielder Alex Peters, sophomore infielder Jenna VanDusen, senior infielder Logan Myers and sophomore pitcher Lauren Heath.

NSL names 2014

all-conference picks

The North Star League announced its all-conference selections in softball, baseball and track for the 2014 season on Thursday.

On the back of their run to the state semifinals, Rogers City had several players named to the all-conference softball team. First-teamers for the Hurons were Logan Fleming, Sarah Meredith and Courtney Streich. Morgan Hall and Alexa Quaine were named to the second team and Nikki Radke was an honorable mention.

Posen’s Ashley Meyers and Amy Buczkowski were named to the first team and Jenna Hincka, Kayla Lenard and Taylor Chojnacki earned second-team honors. Monica Bartz was an honorable mention.

Hillman’s Alissa Jones and Jensen Tchorzynski were first teamers and their teammates Eden Hunt and Kalen Tchorzynski were second team picks. Courtney Sauer was an honorable mention.

Mio’s Jalen DeFlorio, Stephanie Mangutz and Cassidy DeFlorio and Whittemore-Prescott’s Emily Lange made up the rest of the first team.

The rest of the second team was Au Gres’ Brooke Schutte, Mio’s Shelby Booth, Alcona’s Nicole Walen and Oscoda’s Chelsea Keathley.

Other local honorable mentions were: Alcona’s Kendra Cole, Atlanta’s Nikki Flannigan and Mio’s Leslie Asman.

After battling at the top of the North Star League all season, the Alcona and Hillman baseball teams dominated the all-conference teams.

Alcona’s Cody Franklin, Carson Jamieson and Nathan Fettes were named to the first team and Trenton LaVergne was an honorable mention.

Hillman’s Kyle Henigan and Ty Jones were first teamers and Mason VanPamel and Dylan Steinke were named to the second team. David Julka earned an honorable mention.

The rest of the first team was Whittemore’s Mike Arndt, Posen’s Travis Sharpe, Rogers City’s Casey Szatkowski, Mio’s Seth Thomey and Charles Auten and Atlanta’s Josh Barrett.

The remainder of the second team was: Whittemore’s Jose Rodriquez, Greg Blust and Bryce McDonald, Fairview’s Austin Handrich, Posen’s Skyler Tulgestke, Atlanta’s Taylor Juergens, Hale’s Kelby Chrivia, Oscoda’s Brad Gresens and Mio’s Bryson Devers.

Other local honorable mentions were: Atlanta’s Jay Webster, Fairview’s Cameron Gingerich, Mio’s Josh Fox, Posen’s Nick Hincka and Rogers City’s Quintin Kelly.

All-Conference track selections were as follows:


Pole Vault-Zach Price, Mio (HM); Long Jump-Brian Watson Mio (1st); Kyle Willobee, Mio (HM); Shot Put-Jacob Wojtoviets, FV (2nd); Dillon Diaz, FV (HM); Andrew Selke, RC (HM); High Jump-Josh Reinbold, Hillman (1st); Austin Klein, FV (2nd); Mitchell Havercroft, Alcona (HM); Harold Cummings, FV (HM); Discus-Jacob Wojtoviets, FV (1st); Chrys Hogg, RC (HM); 3,200 Relay-Fairview (1st); 110 hurdles-Logan Klein, FV (2nd); 100 Dash-Chris Lopez, RC (1st); Aaron Romel, RC (2nd); Nicholas Lamantia, Alcona (HM); 800 Relay-Alcona (2nd); Fairview (HM); 1,600 Run-Hudson Szubelak, FV (1st); Tony Oaks, FV (HM); Nathan Handrich (HM); 400 Relay-Mio (1st); Alcona (2nd); 400 Dash-Mitchell Havercroft, Alcona (2nd); Brian Eaves, FV (HM); 300 Hurdles-Austin Klein, FV (2nd); Logan Klein, FV (HM); 800 Run-Bryce DeGrammont, Mio (1st); Hudson Szubelak, FV (2nd); Jeffery Schram, Alcona (HM); 200 Dash-Aaron Romel, RC (2nd); Chris Lopez, RC (HM), Chaun Obermiller, Mio (HM), Garrette Norling, Alcona (HM), 3,200 Run-Hudson Szubelak, FV (1st); Nathan Handrich, FV (HM); 1,600 Relay-Alcona (2nd); Fairview (HM); Mio (HM).


Pole Vault-Brooke Shultz, Alcona (1st); Raychel Smith, Mio (2nd); Chase Barton, FV (HM), Madison Socia, Mio (HM); Long Jump-Mara Krupinski, FV (1st); Riley Appelgren, Hillman (HM); Shot Put-Anjelica Patterson, Posen (1st); Kelsey Jakubcin, Posen (2nd); High Jump-Korynn Hincka, Posen (1st); Sydney Pierce, Alcona (2nd); Grace Buck, Hillman (HM); Kayla Flewelling, Posen (HM); Discus-Kiersten Nolan, FV (2nd); Anjelica Patterson (HM); 3,200 Relay-Alcona (1st); Rogers City (2nd); Fairview (HM); 100 Hurdles-Sami Bober, RC (HM); Mara Krupinski, FV (HM); 100 Dash-Anjelica Patterson, Posen (2nd); Miranda Schalk, Alcona (HM); Cynthia Kerr, RC (HM); 800 Relay-Alcona (1st); Rogers City (HM); 1,600 Run-Korynn Hincka, Posen (1st); Emily Malocha, RC (2nd); Karina Cole, Alcona (HM); 400 Relay-Alcona (2nd); Fairview (HM); RC (HM); 400 Dash-Megan Quick, Alcona (1st); Andrea Ford, FV (2nd); Lindsey Randall, Posen (HM); Torie Harmon, Alcona (HM); 300 Hurdles-Sami Bober, RC (2nd); Sydney Pierce, Alcona (HM), Cheyenne Berryhill, FV (HM); 800 Run-Megan Quick, Alcona (1st); Korynn Hincka, Posen (2nd); Emily Malocha, RC (HM); Rebecca Myers, RC (HM); 200 Dash-Andrea Ford, FV (1st); Lindsey Randall, Posen (HM); Anjelica Patterson, Posen (HM); 3,200 Run-Emily Malocha, RC (1st); Korynn Hincka, Posen (2nd); 1,600 Relay-Alcona (1st); Fairview (2nd); Posen (HM); Rogers City (HM).