2013 Miss Sunrise Side Caitlin Borke to compete in state scholarship program

Caitlin Borke, the 2014 Miss Sunrise Side Pageant winner, will compete Saturday in the Distinguished Young Women of Michigan Scholarship Program. The 56th annual program takes place at Saline High School.

Seventeen contestants from around the state of Michigan will compete for more than $8,000 in college scholarships and the chance to represent Michigan at local events throughout the state and at the national finals in Mobile, Ala. This scholarship program is based on academic scholastics, leadership, physical fitness and talent.

At the state program, contestants will perform an opening number and compete in a performing arts talent routine, a physical fitness routine and self expression. Contestants are also evaluated in based on academic scholastics and interview.

“This is one of the largest and most talented group of contestants that we have had, and we are so excited for the public to come and support these accomplished young women,” said Angela Bobo, Distinguished Young Women of Michigan state director.

A final performance by the current Distinguished Young Women of Michigan, Anna Dai, will also be part of the event. Dai was selected as the top five talent and scholastic winner at the Distinguished Young Woman of America national program last June in Mobile.

Competing this year is Jordyn Boitos and Hailey Dottor from Wayne/Westland; Kayla Fryz and Chineze Mbanugo from Plymouth/Canton; Tori Hubbell, Alysha Ausmus and Carly Petersen from the Irish Hills; Cassidy Nugent from Washtenaw County; Karyna Smith from Inkster; Caitlin Borke from Alpena; Akshaya Rajkumar from Oakland County; Claire Martin from Huron County; Ashley Peper from Northville; Alysse Blight from Wyandotte; Mianna Gonczar from Romeo; Cionna Orr from Flint and Stephanie Robinson from Detroit.

Tickets to the event can be purchased at Saline High School the day of the event. The ticket prices are $18. All proceeds go toward scholarship awards.

The Michigan State Program is part of the Distinguished Young Women of America, which is the largest and oldest scholarship program for high school seniors in the country. Since it first began in 1958, over $90 million dollars in college scholarships have been awarded.