2013 All-Alpena News Football Team

The Alcona football team took Northeast Michigan by storm in 2013, finishing 9-0 in the regular season and advancing to the second round of the playoffs among several other successes.

At the heart of Alcona’s success was Nathan Fettes.

Whether it was the game-winning touchdown in double-overtime against Whittemore-Prescott, a four-touchdown effort against Mio or seven games where he rushed for at least 150 yards, Fettes always seemed to come up with big moments when the Tigers needed them the most. He finished the season with 1,557 yards and 20 touchdowns while averaging 11.4 yards per carry.

For those reasons, Fettes who earned Division 7-8 all-state honors earlier this week has been chosen as the 2013 Alpena News Player of the Year.

Fettes, a three-time All-Alpena News pick is one of five Alcona players on this year’s team along with defensive lineman Lucas Weichel, linebackers Josh Mead and Garrette Norling and offensive lineman Tony Dubay.

After a 7-2 regular season and another playoff berth, Mio had four players named to the team: quarterback Brad Rhoads, who led a high-powered Mio offense with more than 2,100 yards passing and 29 touchdowns, wide reciever Colton McGregor, running back Bryson Devers and defensive back Seth Thomey, a repeat first-team pick.

Hillman and Alpena had three selections each with Zach Barlow, Ryan Day and Brad Styma representing the Wildcats and Brenden Zimmer, Mason VanPamel and Mike Klein representing Hillman.

Nick Hincka, who led the area in rushing for a second straight year was one of two Posen players named to the team along with offensive lineman John Zaborney.

Rounding out the team were Onaway’s Chris Cleaver and Matt Tollini, Atlanta’s Jake Wojtoviets and Taylor Juergens and Rogers City’s Chris Lopez.