Alcona, Mio lead all-NSL selections

Area football players earned many honors after the North Star League recently announced its all-conference selections for the 2013 season.

After a 10-1 season and a Huron Shores Division title, Alcona had nine players named to the first team: running backs Nathan Fettes and Josh Mead, quarterback Cody Franklin, offensive linemen Aaron Carasco, Tony Dubay and Lucas Weichel, receiver Dawson Forsythe, Dubay and Weichel on the defensive line, Mead and Garrette Norling at linebacker and Brandon Ritchie in the secondary.

Alcona players named to the second team were: Norling at running back, offensive lineman Bryce Franklin, Fettes at linebacker and Carson Jamieson on special teams.

Chad Cole and Cody Franklin earned honorable mentions at linebacker.

Rogers City’s Chris Lopez was named to the first team in the secondary and on special teams. Jack Ryan earned first team honors at linebacker. Offensive lineman Clay Nadolsky and defensive back Jacob Malocha were named to the second team.

In the North Star Division, Mio had several players named to the first team including quarterback Brad Rhoads, running back Bryson Devers, offensive linemen Jacob Lentz and Zach Patullo, receivers Colton McGregor and Seth Thomey, defensive lineman Aaron Georgieff, linebacker Chaun Obermiller and Thomey at defensive back.

After making the playoffs for the first time in 16 years, Atlanta had the following players named to the first team: running Josh Barrett, quarterback Seth Teets, offensive lineman Jake Wojtoviets, defensive linemen Taylor Juergens and Wojtoviets, linebacker/special team player Jake Chambers and defensive back Jay Webster. Offensive/defensive lineman Evan Reeves was named to the second team along with Chambers at receiver and Barrett and Klein in the secondary. Juergens and Webster both earned an honorable mention at receiver.

Receiver Mason VanPamel and offensive/defensive lineman Brenden Zimmer were among several Hillman players selected to the first team. Joining them were defensive lineman David Julka, linebacker Dylan Ross, Mike Klein in the secondary and Josh Reinbold on special teams.

Running back Kenny Kolcan was named to the second team for Hillman as were quarterback Ty Jones, offensive linemen Kyle Henigan and Shane Holford, receiver/linebacker Travis Powers and linebacker Brent Kenyon.