ACC Foundation appoints new board members

The Alpena Community College Foundation Board of Trustees announced the appointment of five new members, including Rich Gillies, Suzii LaMarre LaCross, Mary L. Lappan, Max Lindsay and August Matuzak.

Gillies is a resident of Lincoln, and is the third generation in his family to own and operate Gillies Funeral Home. He is a member of numerous organizations including the Lincoln Lions, Alcona County Economic Development Corp., Lincoln Village Industrial Development Corp., Barton City Trinity Lutheran Church and the Michigan Funeral Directors Association. In 2012, Gillies was named the Lincoln Citizen of the Year.

LaMarre LaCross of Ann Arbor is a graduate of ACC. Over the years she has been actively involved in the Midland area. She was elected to the Midland Public Schools Board of Education and served for nine years. In addition, she was chair of an Advisory Committee to the Midland City Council for three years, Midland County Youth Leadership Steering Committee for 14 years, and is a 15-year member of the Leadership Midland Alumni Association.

Lappan of Alpena is an ACC alumna. She worked as an Alpena Public Schools elementary teacher for 27 years and also was the owner of Flowerland Designs for three years. Lappan is actively involved in the community and is a member of the ARMC Development Council, Community Foundation for Northeast Michigan Women’s Giving Circle and WISE.

Lindsay of Alpena served as the Dean of Student Affairs at ACC for 35 years and retired in 2011. Recently he was appointed by the Alpena Public Schools Board of Education to serve as the Career and Technical Education college coordinator. Lindsay participates on numerous community boards and organizations including the Habitat for Humanity of Northeast Michigan.

Matuzak of Alpena is also an alumnus of ACC. He worked for Federated Insurance for 29 years and is currently employed with Top O’ Michigan Insurance. As a lifelong Alpena resident, Matuzak has been involved with various organizations including the Alpena Regional Medical Center Development Council’s Planned Gifts Committee, Thunder Bay Arts Council, and the Resurrection Lutheran Church Council.

The ACC Foundation was established in 1982 and is the official fundraising arm of the College and a non-profit, 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. Its mission is to obtain financial support to enhance the ability of ACC to meet the lifelong education needs of the communities it serves.

The ACC Foundation is governed by a volunteer Board of Trustees comprised of business and community leaders. Sue Fitzpatrick serves as president and Nancy Coombs as vice president of the ACC Foundation. Additional board members include Roger Bauer, Jim Boldrey, Lisa M. Dietlin, Marc Ferguson, Cindy Gabara, Olin Joynton, Dennis Kruttlin, Elaine Orr and Terri Rondeau.