Hincka, Thomey among all-North Star League picks

Korynn Hincka and Anna Couture were named to the All-North Star League first team and the Posen girls basketball team had four players named to the all-conference teams for the 2012-13 season.

Joining Hincka and Couture on the first team were Mio’s Jalen DeFlorio, Hillman’s Jensen Tchorzynski, Arenac’s Chantel Murdick and Au Gres’ Cassidy Boensch, who along with Hincka was named first-team all-state early this week.

The Vikings’ Ashley Meyers was named to the second team along with Arenac’s Brooke Sendo and Brooke Schutte, Fairview’s Logan Winton, Hillman’s Morgan Hardies and Mio’s Shelby Satkowiak.

Local players earning an honorable mention were: Atlanta’s Kayla Durocher, Fairview’s Johnna Weidbrauk, Mio’s Chayanne Powell and Posen’s Bev Bednarski.

The Mio boys basketball team earned five total conference honors and were led by Micah Thomey’s first team selection. Joining Thomey on the first team were Atlanta’s Garrett Badgero, Au Gres’ Bret Maser, Fairview’s Kasson Willobee, Hillman’s Mason VanPamel and Posen’s Nick Hincka.

The Thunderbolts’ Ben Lubitz and Seth Thomey were selected to the second team along with Au Gres’ Brent Schwiderson, Hale’s Cody Brewington and Italo Cicotti and Hillman’s Ty Jones.

Local players earning an honorable mention were: Atlanta’s Jake Chambers and Jake Dobbyn, Fairview’s Hudson Szubelak and Austin Handrich, Hillman’s Hunter Fessler and Dylan Ross, Mio’s Dennis Kann III and Aaron Georgieff and Posen’s Travis Sharpe.