Three NHL trophies coming to Alpena

Alpena Hockey Association has teamed up with local businesses and hockey supporters to provide a real treat for young AHA players.

Three Hall of Fame NHL hockey trophies will be on display during the AHA annual awards night tomorrow at Alpena High School’s Stanley C. Beck Auditorium. The Lady Byng, James Norris and Calder Memorial trophies represent the best sportsman, defenseman and rookie of the year respectively for the National Hockey League.

The Lady Byng has been won four times by Red Wings superstar Pavel Datsyuk and three times by Red Wings great Alex Delvecchio. Recently retired Red Wing captain Nick Lidstrom won the Norris Trophy seven seven times. The last Red Wing to win the Calder Trophy was goalie Roger Crozier in 1965.

Tomorrow the trophies will take center stage with the players from AHA during their annual banquet. The banquet is open to all current players, coaches and their families. Doors open at 5:15 p.m. for viewing of the trophies and picture taking and the banquet will start at 6 p.m.

The trophies will be available for public viewing today from 5:30-6:30 p.m. at the Courtyard in Alpena and again tomorrow from 9-10 a.m. at Franks Key and Lock.

For a complete list of sponsors and all available viewing locations and times please check the Alpena Hockey Association’s Facebook page.