APS approves grant awards

ALPENA – Alpena Public Schools Board of Education awarded the remaining $19,676.60 of its Loeweke Grant funds to five project requests. Superintendent Brent Holcomb, said the district originally received the grant during the 2011-12 school year. The board designated approximately $46,000 to its endowed scholarship funds, but left the remaining $19,676.60 open for requests.

Board member Mike Barnett said the finance committee supported the recommendation to award Loeweke Grant to the five selected projects. The Loeweke Fund will be awarded to

  • Rusty Raiders, Bob Thomson/Sanborn Elementary for a student-led research project for the Thunder Bay River Watershed Project for $1,276.73;
  • Shoebox Science, Gretchen Lundquist/ Elly Diamond/ Alpena High School, fourth and fifth graders at Ella White, will receive self contained shoebox science kits with interactive activities for $6,332.16;
  • Soar Into Learning with iPads for kindergarten through first-graders for Shellie Gohl, Sue Talaski, Stacy Dawson, and Polly Hunter of Ella White classes, designed to offer 129 students at Ella White a wide variety of activities through technology, $9,876.71;
  • Paw Pride Jr. Wildcat Memorial Garden, Tricia Udell, Cheryl Mack TBJH sixth-graders will design a paw print shaped garden at TBJH, $1,000;
  • AHS speech class children’s literature presentation, Phil Cook/AHS students will write, develop and perform stories for APS elementary students by traveling to the schools, $1,200 over a five year period.

“I appreciate the boards willingness to support student programs. This was a board initiative to do that,” Holcomb said.

The board originally accepted the $65,676.60 trust funds in February 2012, in remembrance of Nelson Eddy and distributed a large portion of the Eunice Loeweke Trust to the scholarship portion of the APS endowment fund in April. On Monday, the board agreed to spend the remaining $19,676.60 on five APS projects.

In other business:

  • a series of community informational meetings have been scheduled to answer questions about the enhancement millage. All meetings are scheduled for 7 p.m. and will be held at a variety of APS and events.
  • January marks board appreciation month. The board recognized President Diane Shields, Treasurer Mike Barnett, Susan Bowen and Gordon Snow, board members who are elected to four year terms that will expire on Dec. 31, 2016.
  • the board will continue its agreement with the City of Alpena to collect 2013 summer taxes for the sum of $1.76 per parcel from the city for APS.
  • two copy machine bids were approved by the board and will be replacing old machines at AHS and TBJH. Three vendors bid, but both were awarded to Michigan Office Solutions. The board approved purchasing a D-110 for AHS for $22,862 and a WC-7775 for TBJH for $14,475.
  • gifts were accepted including an anonymous donation of an Epson Perfection V370 color scanner valued at approximately $128 to the yearbook class at AHS, an anonymous donation of $500 to Edward L. Buck CTE Scholarship Fund. St. Matthew’s Lutheran Church Council donated $1,000 to the families in transition program at ACES Academy for homeless students, Hinks PAC donated a learning blocks rectangular rug valued at $534.70 to Gosselin’s kindergarten class, Dan Zarske made a $50 donation to TBJH’s science olympiad team, and William and Besty Anderson donated $200 toward the Edward L. Buck CTE Scholarship Fund.
  • the next regular board meeting will be held Feb. 18 at 5:30 p.m.

Emily Siegmon can be reached via e-mail at esiegmon@thealpenanews.com or by phone at 358-5687.